Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 9/20/2014 1:37:53 AM EDT
I just recently bought my first ar15 (stag model 2) and i have an issue.
i went through 50-60 rounds of Winchester 55 gr without any issues ,but then i started using American eagle 55 gr and within 30 rounds I've had 1 round the brass primer ended up in my magazine and two rounds the primer ended up staying in the chamber just under the bore hole stopping the bolt from closing all the way on next round.
as i said before this is my first time ever using an ar15 ,but i have had many different guns throughout the years and never had this problem with any of them.

is it the ammo ?
is it the gun ?

Thanks
Link Posted: 9/20/2014 1:44:32 AM EDT
[#1]
Clean out the chamber, sounds like there is some gunk in there causing some over pressure.
Link Posted: 9/20/2014 2:05:47 AM EDT
[#2]
it does have some clp in there that's set for about 2-3 weeks but i figured from what i had been reading that it was ok as long as i ran a snake through it before i shot it again.
i cant really find a straight answer as to how wet the ar should be inside. all my previous guns were under 500 so i kind of barely ever cleaned or lubed them but this gun set me back a bit so i want to baby it.
I will take your advice and clean it well tomorrow and try it again.
for not shooting a gun for several years i was nailing 1-2 inch rocks at about 25-30 yards standing not sure how good that is but it felt good anyway.

thanks for the advice azoutdoorsman
Link Posted: 9/20/2014 2:15:43 AM EDT
[#3]
Especially when new and during the break in you have to keep it clean and lubed.  American Eagle is not bad ammo so...

Because of the high humidity and temps here if I let it sit I'm in trouble...the carbon swells from the humidity and drys hard as a rock form the temp.
Link Posted: 9/20/2014 2:30:58 AM EDT
[#4]