Site Notices
10/30/2014 3:55:04 PM
  Previous Page
Page:  / 3
Author
Posted: 6/16/2012 12:12:53 AM
Hi guys,

I finished my first build this week, using a PSA lower and LPK, a PSA 20" assembled upper, and a BCM BCG. I took it to the range today to zero the sights in, and ran into an issue. I was using Tapco mags and Aguila ammo, and the rifle would jam when feeding on the right ramp about every 8 to 10 rounds. The bullet wouldn't ride up the ramp, it would stick on the ramp and the BCG would push the bullet back into the case about 1/2 inch. I didn't have any other ammo or mag brands to test, so I'm not sure where the problem is. It feeds fine on the left ramp.

Has anyone experienced this? Being a AR15 newb, I'm not sure where to begin to diagnose this problem. Thanks!
GADeerHunter
Link To This Post
Posted: 6/16/2012 12:23:33 AM
[Last Edit: 6/16/2012 12:24:13 AM by GADeerHunter]
Originally Posted By LutzNutz:
Hi guys,

I finished my first build this week, using a PSA lower and LPK, a PSA 20" assembled upper, and a BCM BCG. I took it to the range today to zero the sights in, and ran into an issue. I was using Tapco mags and Aguila ammo, and the rifle would jam when feeding on the right ramp about every 8 to 10 rounds. The bullet wouldn't ride up the ramp, it would stick on the ramp and the BCG would push the bullet back into the case about 1/2 inch. I didn't have any other ammo or mag brands to test, so I'm not sure where the problem is. It feeds fine on the left ramp.

Has anyone experienced this? Being a AR15 newb, I'm not sure where to begin to diagnose this problem. Thanks!

Can you get a pic of the feed ramps?

My first impression would be a mag problem.. considering they are Tapco... How many different mags did you try?
CLICKBANGBANG
Buried Susie Derkins under the tire swing.
Link To This Post
Posted: 6/16/2012 12:44:25 AM
First off... Welcome!

Sounds like a bad mag. How many do you have to try? Stick with Pmags or quality USGIs.