Site Notices
7/21/2014 6:12:25 PM
ARCHIVED ARCHIVED
  Previous Page
Page:  / 8
Author
Posted: 4/21/2009 6:54:18 PM
I have been looking at a gas piston ar. Are they really worth the extra price? What are the pros and cons of them, what is the purpose of a gas system. Sorry, it's probably a dumb question, but im a newbie.
ftwm

Link To This Post
Posted: 4/21/2009 6:58:39 PM
[Last Edit: 4/21/2009 7:02:21 PM by ftwm]
And we're off...

I don't understand the piston craze.

I also don't understand the people who jealously defend them.

Gas tubes do exactly what they are supposed to, and they cost $10.

I will never, ever consider a piston unless I build a suppressed SBR. Which will never happen.

ETA: READ THIS THREAD if you want to understand how direct impingement works.
COMMAND450
Link To This Post
Posted: 4/21/2009 7:11:02 PM
I see no reason for one, myself and would like to know(like the op) .......what is to be gained by installing one?

I have a good friend, that has been buying and selling AR's for over 30 years. He also see's no need for one either.
Strongbow
Link To This Post
Posted: 4/21/2009 7:18:01 PM
Originally Posted By brian41527:
I have been looking at a gas piston ar. Are they really worth the extra price? What are the pros and cons of them, what is the purpose of a gas system. Sorry, it's probably a dumb question, but im a newbie.

I own DI AR's and a Piston AR. ALL my AR's work fine for what I use them.

Other than ease of cleaning, it's unlikely any of us would realize any real benefit from using a piston AR.

Piston on AR's shine in SBR, Suppressed and Full Auto applications. Their use for semi-auto guns in less strenuous applications is debatable.

Are they WORTH the extra price? Only you can answer that. If you do one of the above, maybe.

If you're just curious... maybe. I'll be honest and say I got mine because I was curious, and the overall quality of teh rifle and components are excellent. But for now, my Colt 6920 is my go-to gun.
damcv62