Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 4/24/2007 11:43:08 AM EDT
Im new to the world of ARs,  and im not looking to spend a mint on one, but i still want a good one.  I want a colt but I cant find one for much under 1000.  So that leads me to think bushmaster, but are any Bushmasters under 1000 really that good?  If anybody can tell me what the they think the best AR-15 under 1000 (preferably under 900, but im not going to get picky) is then please let me know.  
               Thanks a lot for the help,
                  -Dan

p.s. for recreation target shooting and home defense, no hunting
Link Posted: 4/24/2007 11:51:09 AM EDT
[#1]
If you have the time and want to learn some new skills, build your own. For 900 you can have a totally badass AR.

Bushmasters are a bit pricey for what you get, but they are generally good rifles.

Rock River is good too, but I don't like the barrel profiles.

Stag is good as well, but not if you are looking for a *really good* AR. I know I'll get flamed for that one.

DPMS is hit and miss.

Olympic arms, there are good ones, and there are bad ones. And there is bad customer service.

Consider an RRA or Stag lower with a CMMG upper.
Link Posted: 4/24/2007 11:56:48 AM EDT
[#2]
How can you slam Stag when they build most of the other's components???
Link Posted: 4/24/2007 11:59:44 AM EDT
[#3]
you got lots of options

stick w/ the ABCRDS, CMT brands

i'd look into bushy, RRA, and stag myself for the price
Link Posted: 4/24/2007 12:02:21 PM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:

That doesn't compute.  What do you do with all the factory seconds?  Throw a Type II finish on them and ship them as Stags.
Link Posted: 4/24/2007 12:03:53 PM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 4/24/2007 12:05:03 PM EDT
[#6]