Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/25/2016 5:46:52 AM EDT
Folks,

Looking for some thoughts on being assigned/stationed at a base/post near a state border and how you handled residency for buying firearms...

Here's the situation:  I'm a resident of state A.  I'm assigned to state B.  I choose to live in state C because the laws in state B are bad.  Typically, being a resident of state A and having orders to state B mean I'm a resident of state B for residency requirements such as hunting licenses, buying guns, getting a CHL/CCW.  Now that I live in state C I really have nothing saying I'm stationed there so therefore I'm not really a resident and all of a sudden I can't get a resident hunting license, purchase firearms or get a CHL/CCW.  

Anyone experience this before?  How do I get residency in state C?

TIA,
Spooky

Post 4000!  Only took 15 years...
Link Posted: 5/25/2016 8:53:05 AM EDT
[#1]
There's always the normal way, take a couple bills, your id, and birth certificate then head on down to the DMV for some fun.

Remember you'll be paying taxes in your new home state though.  
Which could be a good thing if it's one of the seven with no state income tax.
Link Posted: 5/25/2016 9:11:39 AM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
There's always the normal way, take a couple bills, your id, and birth certificate then head on down to the DMV for some fun.

View Quote

Specifically looking at Virginia.  Looks like you can't get a state ID without surrendering the other state license but if that's the route I go it is pretty standard: 2 forms of ID, prove citizenship, take a picture, get a new ID.  VA seemed pretty good to military but this might end up being an issue.

I'd be going from no state tax to state tax...  Not the direction I want to go...
Link Posted: 5/25/2016 5:47:56 PM EDT
[#3]
Quoted: