Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 11/7/2009 8:17:56 AM EDT
I'm a Sig armorer for a medium sized Police Department (about 130 Officers) so I service a decent number of Sig 229 .40 cal pistols.  Recently, quite a few of the new guns have been having problems with the slide not locking open when the last round is fired.  I put out a department wide email today to determine how many guns this is an issue with and to contact Sig with these numbers to see what can be done about it this coming week.

What I'm asking here is what could be the cause of this problem?  I first thought it to be magazines so I did some testing.  I took one of the guns with the problem and swapped that shooter magazines.  His magazines worked fine in my 8 year old 229 and locked the slide open without problem but my magazines, which I've been using in my sig for 7 years without problem, didn't lock open the slide on his new pistol.  This would lead me to believe the problem is in the pistol and not the magazines.