Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/17/2016 4:00:32 PM EDT
Well now that I'm getting my foot wet with volunteering I want to take an upcoming EMT B class later this year. MY problem is I have little to no health knowledge (trying to better myself) due to it being my worst subject.

Can you guys give me some tips on what I should be studying up on?

Thanks,

Austin
Link Posted: 4/17/2016 4:09:45 PM EDT
[#1]
Anatomy and Physiology would be the best I think..... Don't stress too much on EMT school, if you have a level head and think through problems with a basic understanding of the body you should be fine and they'll teach you what you need in school.

The biggest issue I see new EMT's having is not knowing how to or being very uncomfortable talking to patients. Be comfortable in your own skin and study your text book once in school.
Link Posted: 4/17/2016 11:45:52 PM EDT
[#2]

Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:

Anatomy and Physiology would be the best I think..... Don't stress too much on EMT school, if you have a level head and think through problems with a basic understanding of the body you should be fine and they'll teach you what you need in school.

The biggest issue I see new EMT's having is not knowing how to or being very uncomfortable talking to patients. Be comfortable in your own skin and study your text book once in school.
View Quote
well I work in a retail environment so talking with people isn't to much of an issue. Thanks for the tips as well

any others?

Link Posted: 4/17/2016 11:58:40 PM EDT
[#3]
Nurse not EMT here.  I think you will mostly learn EMT-B stuff on the job.  No one particular thing to focus on for studying.

You're probably worrying needlessly.
Link Posted: 4/18/2016 12:04:27 AM EDT
[#4]
Additionally, the EMT training is more about how to pass the test, and less about how to actually do the job.