Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/28/2015 8:54:36 PM EDT
I know this if going to vary. Maybe it will be interesting.

A few of you started off with a six month long academy followed by about 10 hours per week mandatory good training since Day One, mandatory Physical Training and unlimited practice ammo.

Others were handed a 60 year old never fired .38 Police Positive, a worn out gun belt they had to poke holes in because the last guy to be issued it was Fatty McGilicuddy, a set of keys to a 15 year old clunker and simply told to get to work.

How much of your training has been mandatory?

How much have YOU had to cough up for?

Speak!

Link Posted: 7/28/2015 9:07:41 PM EDT
[#1]
As a non-LEO, I attend 2-3 training courses per year from the best known trainers in the country. I've been doing this for the last 15 years or so.

Got to keep the tip of the spear sharp.

Most of my LEO friends no longer train after their academy and rarely shoot on their own. The vast majority, shoot the annual qualification and that's pretty much all they do as far as firearms training goes.
Link Posted: 7/28/2015 9:45:52 PM EDT
[#2]
Academy was 26 weeks long. Field training was 14 wekeks. Annual inservice training is 4-5 days. I take several classes per year ran by the state on various topics when I can or the brass allows time off. Shoot once or twice a month when I can afford to. Hesitant to take a lot of non-state approved classes due to potential liability with the department or state not having your back if you use a technique or tactic that isn't "approved"...which is stupid, I know. My agency is good generally good about encouraging officers to go to schools but drastically falls short on providing ammo or range time outside of qualification. They literally bean count bullets for training. Say 150rds per officer x 700 officers = 105,000rds.... They will order roughly that number......sooooo stupid