Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/27/2014 3:15:36 AM EDT
First of I'm a Marine I love my iron sights even on my duty weapon as a police officer I don't use the issued EOtech and beat out all the people who do use there Eotech when they qual. I'm about to build my wife her AR-15 I got her the light weight package 16" M4  with a flat top and front sight.

Now this is what I'd like the ladies the ones who do not shoot as much and the ones who shoot all the time to chime in. I love shooting and have for a long time and been doing it since I was a kid my wife not so much! I want to know should I start her on the iron sights or should I get her a red dot to start out with? I know military get people who never have shot to shoot but we don't have tax payers money to spend on ammo and time like the military we both work and I want her to feel confident if she has to use this weapon!

I know woman learn faster then men as I found teaching my wife how to shoot a pistol she got it a lot faster then I did! So do I do the iron sights or red dot? I want to do both in the long run folding iron sights with a red dot! Yet I'd like advice on what you ladies feel is best to start with? Thank you
Link Posted: 3/28/2014 4:03:47 PM EDT
[#1]
I really like my red dot that I have on my AR-15. I do have both on the rifle, but the red dot is so easy to use. I had never used one until I got my AR, but enjoyed both enough that I now have a 15/22 with a red dot on it also.
Link Posted: 3/30/2014 9:05:35 PM EDT
[#2]
If you have access to both, then let her shoot both before deciding. Women don't all have the same preferences.

FWIW, I like shooting with a scope when shooting anything >50 ft because I have shit for eyesight, even with correction. YMMV.
Link Posted: 4/1/2014 8:22:41 PM EDT
[#3]
I prefer iron sights.
Link Posted: 4/1/2014 11:23:13 PM EDT
[#4]