Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 10/27/2016 10:39:24 PM EDT
I have two uncles that were in combat during the Vietnam War, one marine and one soldier, both wounded. From the first time I heard of this and figured out what the war was about I became infatuated with it. I read every book, watched every movie, heard as many stories as I could. I studied the weapons used, the tactics, the daily life and routine of the grunts............everything. And in my mind America was awesome, we were right and had the might, we were confronting communism at every turn.

And then I read a book on the history of Vietnam and it completely changed my perspective. I can't remember the name of the book, but it went over the entire history of Vietnam and I became "aware". I think this new "awareness" coincided with my newfound at the time, mis-trust of our government during about '96, how convenient right?

Then I caught part of an interview with former SecDef Robert McNamara and some of the things he said reinforced my new revelations. I learned that Vietnam was tired of foreigners raping their country of natural resources, namely the Chinese and Europeans, namely the French. To end this raping of their land they sought the help of many countries, one being the United States. Ho Chi Minh admired America and even recited the American Declaration of Independence when he took power. We were apparently too busy to listen to their concerns and we didn't want anything to do with offending France by interfering in their affairs after what they had just been through after WWII.

While pleading for help from democratic countries produced no real assistance, it was the prime opportunity for the Communists to provide any help they could to harm their capitalist cold-war enemies.