Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 2/27/2001 6:47:14 PM EDT
Any doctors or medical students that frequent the AR-15 site out there?  I am a 4th year medical student.  Do any of your colleagues give you grief about owning "assault" style rifles?  hunting?  shooting sports?  Just curious.
Link Posted: 2/27/2001 7:18:15 PM EDT
[#1]
drjakeb, my sister and brother-in-law graduated from KU med, I assume that is where you are attending (I'm a Jayhawk myself, was premed at one time).  To answer your question, they are both pretty anti-gun, along with their colleagues.

However, their house was robbed this year (luckily they weren't home), and I think they are starting to change their tune.

The actually asked me advice about a gun purchase.
Link Posted: 2/27/2001 7:24:46 PM EDT
[#2]
I'm a Second year Podiatric Med. student.  I don't talk guns much with the other students.  A few of them know I own some guns (have to store them outside the city, though).  A few know I own some guns.  A few are active hunters.

I would love to get out sometime, but between work and school and family, there isn't much time left.

AFARR

(Besides, when I get out and into practice, I intend to really build a nice collection!!)

Link Posted: 2/27/2001 7:24:52 PM EDT
[#3]
Nobody has ever given me any grief. One colleague asked alot of intelligent questions about home defense with a firearm. I answered as best as I could, then gave him a spare copy of Ayoob's book "In the Gravest Extreme".

Most seem interested when I start talking about IPSC, and most start talking about their hunter-relatives when I start talking about hunting.

Of course, this is rural PA, not some urban hell-hole like "Philthy-delphia". YMMV.
Link Posted: 2/27/2001 8:14:44 PM EDT
[#4]