Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/10/2001 1:51:09 AM EDT
Ok, listen to this. I'm down here in San Diego looking for a job, mind you- any job, for the summer. I'm a sophomore studying to be an electrical enginner at the University of San Diego, I have a 3.3 gpa and a 1460 SAT score, I I don't do drugs, I look normal, and you know what? I CAN'T GET A JOB!!! ANYWHERE!!! Not even the local drugstores!!!

I have filled out 20+ applications, have gone to interviews (that I thought went very well), and I have had no luck. I have previous work experience at a certain company which I left on good terms and which speaks very highly of me.

Illegal immigrants have an easier time finding work than I do, a 19 yr. old honor student.

So, anyone want to give me a job?

radioman
Link Posted: 7/10/2001 2:08:23 AM EDT
[#1]
thats the problem.the IE are filling all the low tech jobs.
Link Posted: 7/10/2001 6:50:02 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 7/10/2001 6:53:19 AM EDT
[#3]
Get a job gaffing on a fishing boat.
Link Posted: 7/10/2001 7:08:34 AM EDT
[#4]
You probably look TOO innocent and normal.  I'm 43 and look like a hippie freak, and I haven't had trouble finding jobs in 'Diego since the last major recession (10 years ago).

Seriously, it's always hard to find a job when you don't have multiple years of work experience.  I'm almost on the other end of that mountain - People my age are being discriminated against because we demand too high a salary (even though we're worth every penny of it).

Have you looked at the obvious EE places like Qualcomm and SAIC?

Also consider registering with a temp service like Volt Technical.  They'll find you something.  It may be a sh1t summer position, but you need to start networking somewhere.

Good luck to you!
Link Posted: 7/10/2001 7:13:08 AM EDT
[#5]
Wow, I can't see how it can be that hard to find a job.   I wish you luck.

Caddyshack - "The world needs ditch diggers too"