Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/28/2001 7:25:43 AM EDT
I have seen adds in the back of road and track adn such advertising the License plate covers that hide your plate fom traffic camera angles?
Any experience or knowledge on the subject would be appreciated.

I just moved to VA and they are already taking enough of my money..
Link Posted: 5/28/2001 7:46:37 AM EDT
[#1]
I have no personal experience, but a friend of mine at work told me he had one in LA and at more than slight angles they reflect light so as to produce a reflection.
Link Posted: 5/28/2001 8:52:29 AM EDT
[#2]
They work well enough for Canada to make them illegal.
Link Posted: 5/28/2001 10:02:07 AM EDT
[#3]
They are "reasonable suspicion" to institute a traffic stop. So unless you want to get pulled over everytime you go into a Fiefdom that has Big Brother cam. Dont waste your time.

Also, they take the plate too. So you'll waste money as well. D.
Link Posted: 5/28/2001 10:21:26 AM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 5/28/2001 10:28:40 AM EDT
[#5]
Anything covering any portion of any lettering on a plate in NY is illegal. That includes the smoked plate covers, clear plate covers and the anti-RADAR photo covers you mention. I am sure almost every state has a similar law on the books.
Link Posted: 5/28/2001 1:16:39 PM EDT
[#6]
Most states in my area have a visibility requirement for plates.  They are supposed to be readable up to 200 ft.  Any cover(especially the smoked ones) Is PC for a stop and possibly a cite.
Link Posted: 5/28/2001 1:20:35 PM EDT
[#7]
You might as well just take the plate off and quit playing stupid games.

If something that basic is probable cause, what rights do we actually have, then?  Every time I see a cop, whether I'm doing anything wrong or not, I know I may get pulled over.  
Link Posted: 5/28/2001 8:42:17 PM EDT
[#8]