Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/12/2001 5:30:58 PM EDT
I have a bushmaster 20" a2 kit that I built on an oly lower (my first and only ar) back in january, never have had a chance to shoot at much more than beer bottles and computer monitors. I got my membership finally at the gun club here in town, it was fukken AWESOME!
I did the benchrest range first at 100 yards, sitting, resting foreend on bag, shot 20 rounds of houston cartridge company reloads (cheap and all lake city brass btw) and got about an 8 inch grouping, with one round missing target entirely, probably could have done better if I hadn't kept looking through spotting scope after each couple of rounds and having to re-shoulder, but hey i was anxious to see what I was doing. I shot this position again with 10rds of hornady 53gr match hollowpoint about a 5 inch grouping zero misses, the ammo definitely makes a difference! I know I haven't really done anything that great comparatively, but I havent been to a real range with real targets for 6 years or so, and have NEVER shot close to a hundred yards with open sites. My experience from a little kid on up was that scoped hunting rifles are needed for 100yds+ and AKs and SKSs were fun at pistol length ranges, not n'more!

The REAL fun was the silhouette range, shot chickens at 200 and worked my way up to rams at 500, which to my surprise actually did fall down with one hit most of the time, it'd take me 4 or 5 shots to hit one, but still I shot something at 500 yards!! another first for me, [b]especially[/b] w/ iron sites. This was btw an assembled upper in this kit I bought, front nor rear sites have been touched since it left the factory.