Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 5
Posted: 4/23/2017 3:54:10 AM EDT
Title change due to the insane generosity of our members here.

I have no idea what I'm going to do. A bolt of fucking lightning just destroyed my work machine (a 2013 Mac Pro that I can't afford to replace). It was plugged into a surge protector on what I thought was a grounded outlet.

I have no idea what I'm going to do. That machine was my life. I do music production for a living. It was not a frivolous purchase (I routinely use upwards of 50 GB of RAM in my larger sessions). It's not covered by Applecare  or my insurance.

I realize there are others out there with bigger problems but man...this sucks

For those interested, the machine turns on but both screens are just black (I tested the screens with my laptop and they both work). They sense they're connected to something but they just remain backlit and black.

ETA: many thanks to Magicmissile for that insanely gracious offer. I will be taking him up on it if I can't get the issue resolved. This place is amazing. I am humbled and blessed by the generosity.

ETA 2: another casualty of the power surge

Attachment Attached File
Link Posted: 4/23/2017 3:56:15 AM EDT
[#1]
are the hard drives still ok?
Link Posted: 4/23/2017 3:56:33 AM EDT
[#2]
Some surge protectors provide coverage for damage
Link Posted: 4/23/2017 3:56:45 AM EDT
[#3]
I would start to panic just yet. You may have just fried somthing that can be replaced.
Link Posted: 4/23/2017 3:59:20 AM EDT
[#4]
Sorry to hear that. See if you can salvage the HD and try to find a used MBP.
Link Posted: 4/23/2017 4:00:27 AM EDT
[#5]
In the unlikely event that it is just the screen, you can run a video cable to a monitor or tv as a test.

Assuming it has a video out.
Link Posted: 4/23/2017 4:01:46 AM EDT
[#6]
home or renters cover it?
Link Posted: 4/23/2017 4:02:27 AM EDT
[#7]