Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 2/12/2016 10:29:40 PM EDT
I'm a college student, and I'm looking at getting out of the dorms for next year.  What should I be looking for when I go to a showing?  Also, what are important things to be aware of in general (for the lease, etc)?  I know basics like make sure you know what utilities you pay, occupancy cap, etc.  Any tips/information is much appreciated!
Link Posted: 2/12/2016 10:31:15 PM EDT
[#1]
Look at what kind of people live there.
Link Posted: 2/12/2016 10:31:20 PM EDT
[#2]
Make sure you note any damage on during the inspection.  Also expect that you will little to none of your damage deposit back. At the very least most places take carpet cleaning out of that.
Link Posted: 2/12/2016 10:32:10 PM EDT
[#3]
Insurance!  Its cheap.
Link Posted: 2/12/2016 10:34:45 PM EDT
[#4]
Get pictures, note any and all damage, look for gaps between windows, doors, squeaky things, water leaks, fridge stinks, anything and everything.  Before you sign any lease, verify it's been fixed.  

Read your lease, read everything a couple times.  

Before you move out, clean, and take pictures of any and all damage, if you get the carpets cleaned, get the receipt.  If you do them yourself, get a receipt.  

Honestly if you keep the place clean, and don't trash it, you'll be fine.
Link Posted: 2/12/2016 10:38:35 PM EDT
[#5]
Do a walk-through video of the place before you move everything into it and note any pre-existing damage, condition of the carpet, etc.  Do the same when you move out.

Read the lease thoroughly.

"No Pets" means just that.

"No Subletting" means just that.

"No Overnight Guests" means just that.

Before doing the walk-through get the address and look at crime stats for the neighborhood.

Research the management company or apartment complex online to see if there are complaints.
Link Posted: 2/12/2016 10:42:52 PM EDT
[#6]