Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 4
Posted: 5/28/2015 10:11:46 PM EDT
Please explain why the Over-Under Shotgun is considered superior to the Semi-Auto for Clays?

I am relatively new to Skeet and Sporting clays and I wonder why so many Clay Shooters "look down" on the semi auto shotguns?

Krieghoff K80:

Remington 1100 Skeet:

Isn't the Semi-Auto shotgun just as capable in the hands of a pro shooter as the over-under would be?
Link Posted: 5/28/2015 10:12:43 PM EDT
[#1]
Better balance, two different chokes, much faster second shot
Link Posted: 5/28/2015 10:13:23 PM EDT
[#2]
If you have to ask the difference between a K80 and an 1100...
Link Posted: 5/28/2015 10:14:04 PM EDT
[#3]
Tagscribe, I too never got this as well. Of course at the ripe age of 16 I remember out shooting some old guys with 5k O/U's with my 870 express. They weren't happy. Clays is a ton of fun, but they can be an uppity bunch.
Link Posted: 5/28/2015 10:14:20 PM EDT
[#4]

In before the multiple posts from people about how they don't see the need for a fanciful shotgun because they took their old 870 po-leece shotgun out to the skeet range and busted more clays than the old fogeys did and there was much grumbling and chin wagging and dark looks from the FUDDs...

Edit:  Apparently not...

Link Posted: 5/28/2015 10:15:35 PM EDT
[#5]
Choice of chokes, feel, looks. Also a much larger choice of high end guns.
Link Posted: 5/28/2015 10:17:53 PM EDT
[#6]
Well first off most clay sports only need 2 shots at a time, so a semi auto has no point.

Second, you don't have the action movement throwing your second shot off.

Third you have two different barrels allowing two different chokes. So your 2nd shot can me better tuned to hit birds a bit further away.

Fourth, they look cool popping the shells out.
Link Posted: 5/28/2015 10:18:05 PM EDT
[#7]

Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted: