Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 3
Posted: 12/19/2014 5:59:04 PM EDT
Other than using FUCK as a comma, what habits or mannerisms did you bring back from deployment?

I was in Desert Storm

I had two distinct ones.

I was a driver in a tank.  We have three vision blocks when the hatch is closed.  One at 12 o'clock, one at 10 and one at 2.  When I drove I was constantly going from 10 to 12 to 2, then back.  It would be 10-pause 12-pause 2-pause, glance at instruments, then 2-pause 12-pause then 10-pause.  Back and forth, never changing, like a metronome.  For about a month after I got back home I would do the same thing while driving a car.  People would point it out and laugh.

My second would be eating.  If I had a plate in front of me, my left hand would wave back and forth a couple of inches above the food while my right hand used the fork or spoon.  That one took about a month and a half to break.

My dad was deployed to Iraq in 2007 and he came back with a bit of PTSD.  For almost a year he couldn't drive because he would straddle the center line, staying as far away from ditches as possible.  If there was fresh dirt or something on the shoulder he would swerve to the far side from the dirt.  Most of his time was spent in convoys, so he was kinda touchy about IEDs.

Those are mine, what did you have?
Link Posted: 12/19/2014 6:06:54 PM EDT
[#1]
No one had any?
Link Posted: 12/19/2014 6:08:00 PM EDT
[#2]
Turning my shoes upside down before putting them on.
Backing into parking spots.
Link Posted: 12/19/2014 6:09:24 PM EDT
[#3]
I don't trust stray dogs anymore

I refuse to drive next to concrete barriers in construction zones, If I don't have a choice I'm a nervous wreck until I get out of the area

I absolutely will not drive over a piece of cardboard or paper or anything else in the road