Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 10/30/2014 8:19:36 AM EDT
So I'm having a meh day. I was being sneaky at work and I decided to take a look at my co workers pay check while he was looking at it online. I shouldn't
have, but I couldn't resist.

Backstory. We were hired a week apart for the same position that had two openings. I am a new grad and he is an old retired guy.
He doesn't have the experience for the job that we have and no education. I am the opposite. Besides some internships and retail work
I have little experience with a college degree.

Then I find out that he makes quite a bit more than I do. It's salary, but if I translate it to hourly, it's about 8 dollars an hour higher.
Is it normal to feel like I've been slapped in the face?
Link Posted: 10/30/2014 8:21:48 AM EDT
[#1]
time to find another job.  they think you are stupid.
Link Posted: 10/30/2014 8:21:51 AM EDT
[#2]
Welcome to the world of your first job.  How long have you been there?  Did you make a counter-offer when you were hired?
Older guys usually have a few more bargaining chips.
Link Posted: 10/30/2014 8:22:11 AM EDT
[#3]
he obviously negotiated better.  Right or wrong.
Link Posted: 10/30/2014 8:22:44 AM EDT
[#4]
Older = more pay.  It's because he has real world experience and you don't.  It's also because, as a new grad, they know they don't have to pay you shit so they don't.

Get experience, make yourself valuable to employers, and you'll end up being the highly-paid person.

Link Posted: 10/30/2014 8:23:30 AM EDT
[#5]
A salary generally means you negotiated your pay with your employer.  Did you do that?  If so he's evidently smarter than you are.  Or he works harder than you.  Or he whines less.  Probably all three.
Link Posted: 10/30/2014 8:23:41 AM EDT
[#6]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
he obviously negotiated better.  Right or wrong.
View Quote