Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 10/30/2014 7:34:51 AM EDT
come this spring I'm planning on moving back home to central PA when my current enlistment is up.

I'll be joining an Air National Guard unit about 40min away from where I grew up. With them I'll have the same job I currently have, on C-130's though, and keep my current rank.

My AFSC ( job) in the Air Force was as a C-130 and later a B-52 aircraft Crew Chief (mechanic). I also served a side position as a unit vehicle trainer. I was the first line supervisor and rater of five junior enlisted Airmen

However, aside from going back there on leave, I haven't lived at home since I left ten years ago. I joined the Air Force straight out of High School so I have no previous experience with writing a resume. I'm going through a Transition Assistance class on base right now. They show you how to write a resume and the more successful ways to apply and interview for a job.

While I'm ready to get out of the AF and go home, I also can't help but be a little scared about this prospect. The last civilian job I worked was as a hardware store clerk back in high school.

Also when I get home, until I'm settled into a new career, I'll be the stereotypical millennial who is back to living with his parents.
Link Posted: 10/30/2014 7:38:24 AM EDT
[#1]
Good luck on the transition and welcome home to our area.
Link Posted: 10/30/2014 7:55:35 AM EDT
[#2]
No shame in it at all.  You are not free loading and sitting on a couch all day long.  Enjoy it and journey forward.
Link Posted: 10/30/2014 7:57:36 AM EDT
[#3]
Are you going to work on obtaining your A&P license?
Link Posted: 10/30/2014 8:19:01 AM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
View Quote

not sure yet, GI bill will pay for it, but there isn't a big demand for aircraft mechanics back there.