Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 116
Posted: 5/14/2014 11:18:37 PM EDT
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

This thread got the ball rolling on Hollis v. Holder, for current news and developments on the Post '86 Machine Gun Lawsuits, visit Nolo's thread:
Hollis v. Holder, Watson v. Holder

To donate to the legal fund, follow this link to the Heller Foundation:
https://hellerfoundation.org/donate-now/

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Posted: 5/14/2014

Read about it here:

http://blog.princelaw.com/2014/05/14/did-atfs-determination-on-nics-checks-open-the-door-for-manufacture-of-new-machineguns-for-trusts/

I know it's a long shot, but this could have seriously implications.

ETA 5/15/14:

Here's a cover letter I typed up for anyone interested in submitting any Form 1s.

I think I covered everything, but I'm not a lawyer, so if any of you legal types want to chime in and add/edit anything, feel free.

Also, the cover letter references the ATF letter to Brandon Maddox, so it would be in your best interest to print a copy of it and send it in with this cover letter.

PDF of ATF letter

Attention: NFA Examiner
National Firearms Act Branch
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives
244 Needy Road, Suite 1250
Martinsburg, WV 25405

According to the Firearms Industry Programs Branch letter dated March 17, 2014 to Brandon Maddox of BMaddox Enterprises LLC, the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF) holds that unincorporated trusts are not “persons” as defined by 18 U.S. Code § 921(a) and the Gun Control Act (GCA).

18 U.S. Code § 921(a) provides:

(1) The term “person” and the term “whoever” include any individual, corporation, company, association, firm, partnership, society, or joint stock company.

ATF further clarifies the character of the law by stating the following in the letter to Mr. Maddox: