Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 10
Posted: 1/5/2014 9:10:10 PM EDT
I'm a substitute teacher by trade and after subbing in several school districts all over Oregon, I have found sadly that not many kids are learning cursive writing anymore.

Asking the teachers I filled in for and many just said that it is too late to cover it.

WTH??

Anyone with kids, are they learning cursive in their school or is it is a dying art not needed anymore?

Link Posted: 1/5/2014 9:11:29 PM EDT
[#1]
They don't teach it anymore around here. I work with a guy, 20, can't read or write cursive.
Link Posted: 1/5/2014 9:11:31 PM EDT
[#2]
Learning to write cursive is a huge waste of time when kids are sucking at math and science.

I can see READING cursive being an important lesson, but writing it? Who needs it?
Link Posted: 1/5/2014 9:11:31 PM EDT
[#3]

Link Posted: 1/5/2014 9:12:05 PM EDT
[#4]
Anachronistic waste of time.
Link Posted: 1/5/2014 9:12:12 PM EDT
[#5]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
They don't teach it anymore around here. I work with a guy, 20, can't read or write cursive.
View Quote

WAT. My five-year-olds can read cursive.
Link Posted: 1/5/2014 9:12:25 PM EDT
[#6]
I teach it to mine.

I have a 7th grade girl,and  5th grade boy.
Link Posted: 1/5/2014 9:12:28 PM EDT
[#7]
Mine were taught cursive in the 3rd grade.
Link Posted: 1/5/2014 9:14:11 PM EDT
[#8]
Link Posted: 1/5/2014 9:14:47 PM EDT
[#9]
I know how to read and write it, but still hate writing the letter z.  I really don't use it much anymore, just doesn't seem practical.
Link Posted: 1/5/2014 9:15:18 PM EDT
[#10]