Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/9/2012 9:17:34 AM EDT

So I've cooked on cast iron my entire life.  My mother had an antique shop so I've had a lot of experience with Griswold and Wagner and various other brands of older CI.  They mostly have a glass like non-stick surface.  I realize that they've probably been used a lot but I cannot imagine that lodge will be able to achieve a similar surface without sanding and reseasoning.

Why the FUCK does Lodge cast iron come with an almost sandpaper like internal surface texture.  Is there a reason for this that I'm missing?
Link Posted: 6/9/2012 9:21:51 AM EDT
[#1]
They actually surfaced the old stuff.  Now they just leave it as cast.  
Link Posted: 6/9/2012 9:22:29 AM EDT
[#2]
It will wear in
Link Posted: 6/9/2012 9:23:59 AM EDT
[#3]
get you some 3M surface conditioning pads and an air grinder and smooth that puppy down.
Link Posted: 6/9/2012 9:27:48 AM EDT
[#4]
Because the older GOOD cast iron like Griswold and Wagner were made thinner and smoother.

Definitely more detail was made when making them vs the Lodge line.

Link Posted: 6/9/2012 9:34:53 AM EDT
[#5]
I've got a cast iron wok that's unusable because it's so rough. Food sticks to it like crazy.
Link Posted: 6/9/2012 9:36:28 AM EDT
[#6]
Quoted:
Because the older GOOD cast iron like Griswold and Wagner were made thinner and smoother.

http://bonanzleimages.s3.amazonaws.com/afu/images/0963/6481/vintage_seasoned_Griswold__8_skillet.JPG

Lodge pretty much sucks.  I'm just curious why nobody else seems interested in competing with them.

There does seem to be a demand for quality CI.  Hell, if I went to the store today and saw some new brand of CI that was smooth as glass and cost 10 bucks more than the Lodge CI.....I'd buy it in a heartbeat.
Link Posted: 6/9/2012 9:49:46 AM EDT
[#7]