Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 9
Posted: 10/19/2010 6:45:13 AM EDT
http://www.expressjetpilots.com/the-pipe/showthread.php?39523-Well-today-was-the-day&s=fa4b43b8bf827740d0e4181293394570
The following was written by a pilot on another forum, concerning his difficulties with TSA and the new "back-scatter" method of screening passengers.
My name is Michael Roberts, and I am a pilot for ExpressJet Airlines,
Inc., based in Houston (that is, I still am for the time being). This
morning as I attempted to pass through the security line for my commute
to work I was denied access to the secured area of the terminal building
at Memphis International Airport. I have passed through the same line
roughly once per week for the past four and a half years without
incident. Today, however, the Transportation Security Administration
(TSA) agents at this checkpoint were using one of the new Advanced
Imaging Technology (AIT) systems that are currently being deployed at
airports across the nation. These are the controversial devices featured
by the media in recent months, albeit sparingly, which enable screeners
to see beneath people’s clothing to an extremely graphic and intrusive
level of detail (virtual strip searching). Travelers refusing this
indignity may instead be physically frisked by a government security
agent until the agent is satisfied to release them on their way in what
is being touted as an "alternative option” to AIT. The following is a
somewhat hastily drafted account of my experience this morning.

As I loaded my bags onto the X-ray scanner belt, an agent told me to
remove my shoes and send them through as well, which I’ve not normally
been required to do when passing through the standard metal detectors in
uniform. When I questioned her, she said it was necessary to remove my
shoes for the AIT scanner. I explained that I did not wish to