Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/17/2010 11:00:16 AM EDT
So I apologize if there is an easy to find location with the info I'm looking for, but if there is I can't find it.  If my question's easily answered somewhere I would greatly appreciate a link.

I'm not really looking for legal advice per se, more of specific states laws in layman's terms for owning an AR with a collapsible stock, ect.  I'm a resident of South Carolina, that spends quite a bit of the year in Georgia.  Neither of which I've been able to find any problems with having an AR, but that's moot.  My problem is that work may have just thrown a wrench in my works and is sending my to the NJ/PA area for a few months.  Most likely living in NJ near PA.  Is there any benefit to being a SC resident living up there?  

Thanks in advance...
Link Posted: 4/17/2010 11:04:09 AM EDT
[#1]
live in PA, commute to NJ

PA has no restrictions on AR15's or ammo capacity

NJ was the model for the 94 AW ban, no mags over 15 capacity, no pre-ban provision, no collapsible stocks, bayonet lugs, flash hiders, threaded barrels, so on and so forth.
Link Posted: 4/17/2010 11:06:09 AM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:

NJ was the model for the 94 AW ban, no mags over 15 capacity, no pre-ban provision, no collapsible stocks, bayonet lugs, flash hiders, threaded barrels, so on and so forth.

Yeah, this. Taxes are better in PA, too.
Link Posted: 4/17/2010 11:10:45 AM EDT
[#3]
I'm considering it.  But where I'll be is just far enough into NJ that it would be expensive enough to commute that it wouldn't be worth while.  The wonders of owning a Jeep.

I'm assuming you can't posses a high-cap AR in NJ even if you're not shooting it there?  What about people that are driving through?

I'm trying to learn as much as I can.  Weapons laws are one of those things I would like to stay on the good side of the law for.
Link Posted: 4/17/2010 11:14:11 AM EDT
[#4]