Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/29/2015 12:13:13 AM EDT
Give me pointers on Hops and growing them myself.  Wife wants to try next spring to grow some looking for leads on good information about growing our own hops and how to start them off.
Link Posted: 8/29/2015 7:26:12 PM EDT
[#1]
Lots of info out there.  I'm hoping to start growing some next year too.

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/grow-your-own-hops.html
Link Posted: 8/29/2015 9:30:16 PM EDT
[#2]
Thanks, so far we are "concerned" by some of the stuff we have found so far and the spacing it states we need between plants we aren't planning on growing a crazy amount just a few since I am new to the home brew thing.  I think one info area I read said they have to be spaced 5 feet apart which a couple of hop plants would take up my entire backyard.
Link Posted: 8/31/2015 8:09:05 AM EDT
[#3]
Something to think about is how you plan on using them after they grow?  "Wet hops" can't just be used the same way you currently add in your store-bought hops...just something to think about.
Link Posted: 8/31/2015 12:38:35 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
"Wet hops" can't just be used the same way you currently add in your store-bought hops...just something to think about.
View Quote

Really??
Link Posted: 8/31/2015 12:51:26 PM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:

Really??
View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes
Quoted:

Quoted:

"Wet hops" can't just be used the same way you currently add in your store-bought hops...just something to think about.

Really??

They need to be dried first and then vac sealed for storage.

You can use them to make a wet hop ale if you want also. That would eliminate the drying time.
Link Posted: 8/31/2015 3:48:43 PM EDT
[#6]
Quoted:

Really??
View All Quotes
Quoted:
Quoted:

Really??

Yes.  There are some different things to consider.