Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/6/2014 7:30:12 PM EDT
I admit it, I'm a newb at homebrewing and wine in general and I've got a question about wine that's probably going to garner a few chuckles.

Being a whiskey drinker I've never really drank wine and every wine I've ever drank I hated. Well unless you call Boone's wine and we go back to when I was young. I recently planted a small orchard, as well as muscadines and blackberries. I thought that hopefully having plenty of fruit in the future I should consider wine making. So I decided to try a Welches to wine recipe that I found online. I used Welches 100% Concord grape juice and to my utter shock, I love the stuff! It's got a kick but it's still sweet and tastes....well like strong juice. It's not dry and doesn't have a weird after taste like most every other wine I've drank.

That all being said, I've got a couple more batches brewing and I'm sure to a real wine drinker this stuff would be rot gut, but I love it. This has opened up my mind to the possibility that there might actually be some wines out there that I would like but I have no idea what to try and I don't want to start buying random bottles of wine to see.

Any suggestions on what kind of wine I should try that will be fairly sweet, not dry and taste something similar to Concord juice? I know it probably sounds ridiculous but I figure it's a good place to start.

Link Posted: 4/6/2014 8:13:37 PM EDT
[#1]
No idea, but I'll be interested in the responses.
Link Posted: 4/6/2014 9:00:26 PM EDT
[#2]
You should try white zinfandel, chenin blanc, or a riesling varietal wine. They are not normally fermented dry and have some residual sugar left in them. That's the fruitiness and sweetness your tasting in the others that you mentioned you liked.
Link Posted: 4/6/2014 11:46:13 PM EDT
[#3]
Thanks! I might take a look next time I'm at the store.
Link Posted: 4/8/2014 9:27:42 PM EDT
[#4]