Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/11/2016 3:05:25 PM EDT
As part of a graduate program that I'm planning to do in the next year, I have to do an elementary statistics class as a prerequisite. I've previously done first year calculus, first year physics and 2 1/2 years of chemistry, so I'm not terribly worried about stats. I've just never had occasion to take a stats class.

I still have my beloved HP 48 calculator from physics in 1996 and I'm very comfortable with RPN. The class requires a calculator and it must do averages, standard deviations and linear regressions. Any calculator is allowed, and none is specified.

Am I fine to stick with the HP, or might I be better with a TI?

Link Posted: 1/11/2016 4:49:38 PM EDT
[#1]
Don't overlook the dozens of statistics calculators available for smart phones.

Link Posted: 1/11/2016 4:51:49 PM EDT
[#2]
As a former math teacher, I used my TI 83 for a few Statistics classes  it did everything that I needed it to do. Also, I was able to do some basic programming with it. Try this link for an explanation:

TI-83 STAT Functions
Link Posted: 1/11/2016 4:55:45 PM EDT
[#3]

Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:

Don't overlook the dozens of statistics calculators available for smart phones.

View Quote
I have looked at a number of these. However, smart phones aren't allowed on the tests.

Link Posted: 1/11/2016 9:39:52 PM EDT
[#4]
I'm currently in school, and taking calc 1 this semester. TI-84 or TI-83 is what everyone uses, and is recommended by the teachers. Pawn shops usually have them for about $40 or $50.
Link Posted: 1/16/2016 1:19:32 PM EDT
[#5]
For homework learn how to drive Excel.
Link Posted: 2/8/2016 4:44:05 PM EDT
[#6]
I highly recommend the TI-Nspire CX CAS.