Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page General » Pets
Posted: 8/22/2015 2:29:10 AM EDT
Has anyone ever sent their dog away for general training?  This Lab pup is driving me crazy.  I've had three other Labs plus other breeds over the years, so I'm not a novice.  Three and a half months old and not house trained yet.  Play turns aggressive and I end up bleeding.  He has no fear of us at all.  I was looking at one of these outfits that train dogs that stay at their premises. It is expensive, but the alternative is giving him away.
Link Posted: 8/22/2015 3:02:34 AM EDT
[#1]
Only hunting dogs.
At the very least sign up for a Pet Smart or Petco class and invest some time. It's now or never.
Link Posted: 8/22/2015 9:40:41 AM EDT
[#2]
I do this for a living, shoot me a PM
Link Posted: 8/24/2015 12:17:33 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Only hunting dogs.
At the very least sign up for a Pet Smart or Petco class and invest some time. It's now or never.
View Quote

I have been attending a class at Pet Smart.
Link Posted: 9/1/2015 10:07:36 PM EDT
[#4]
Start hand feeding him.

Thats what they told me to do with my 8 week old Maligator.
Link Posted: 9/2/2015 12:53:52 AM EDT
[#5]
Quoted:

View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes
Quoted:
Quoted:
Only hunting dogs.

As a former trainer at Petco, their classes are shit.

I can't imagine Petsmart is any better. If you are serious about training with your dog, find a trainer you like in your area that is strictly a trainer.
Link Posted: 9/2/2015 10:58:34 AM EDT
[#6]
Yes, did it with our current 1-year old Great Pyrenees.  There's a place that we've kenneled our dogs at occasionally and they also do training classes.  We did training with our Shelties there and they earned their Canine Good Citizenship tags.