Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page General » Pets
Site Notices
Posted: 12/9/2014 2:49:58 PM EDT
We are thinking about taking in a yellow lab from a woman who says she does not have time for him. He ran out of her front door and knocked a kid off of a bike. We live in the country so that wouldn't be as much of an issue for us although we do have neighbors 1/4 mi in either direction. We also have a 1 year old son and chickens.

I have no experience with labs. She said he is very hyperactive. At 18 months will we be able to train him to stay home and come to us when we call if we try to play fetch in the yard? Its my understanding that labs are generally pretty good with children is that correct?

Thanks for the input.
Link Posted: 12/9/2014 3:39:42 PM EDT
[#1]
Sounds to me like that dog just needs a place to run and a kid to play with.  Go for it.  Should be a great dog and good addition to the family.  Don't worry, except maybe for the chickens getting chased around a little.  After a couple years, your boy and that dog will be inseparable.
Link Posted: 12/9/2014 5:39:40 PM EDT
[#2]
Labs can be high drive / high energy.  My old guy at that age cleared a six foot fence to get out of the yard when he saw the neighbor's cat.  He also loved people and was great with kids, and would fetch a damned tennis ball or frisbee all day.

They are very trainable and aim to please, they just need a job.  It's up to you to teach him that his job does not include chasing the chickens.
Link Posted: 12/9/2014 6:56:48 PM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 12/9/2014 7:19:36 PM EDT
[#4]
My yellow Lab is 17 months old.  Never had Labs. He's 95 lbs of muscle and energy. Had a vet appointement a couple of weeks ago and he had the vet on the floor licking his face.  Mellow with just me, but goes kinda crazy with any external stimuli--like another person, or a rabbit.  Easily the smartest dog I've ever had, and I've had a few. Very affectiionate.