Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page General » Books
Posted: 11/25/2014 12:39:13 AM EDT
Hey everyone, I'm looking at getting some new horror books. I'm looking for some good horror authors. Tell me who are some good horror authors past and present that I should be reading?

Here is who I am reading as of right now.

Stephen King (I have just about every book by King. I just started reading him and so far I like what I have read)
Dean Koontz (I have only read one book and have two others to read. So far, I like his writing and style)
H.P. Love Craft (One book of a collection of stories. I have not read any of his work just yet)

I'm an author and it seems that my writing over the last year has started heading in the horror genera area. I'm trying to read as many good horror authors as I can. I study the way they write and how they set up a scene. In the process of studying these authors I have become addicted to the horror genera.

Thanks everyone for any and all recommendations of authors.  
Link Posted: 11/25/2014 9:09:50 PM EDT
[#1]
As you can probably guess from my username, I will recommend that you read the Lovecraft book first.  Despite his peculiar style and relatively small body of work his influence on modern horror is almost impossible to overstate.  Start with The Call of Cthulhu, The Colour Out of Space, The Shadow Over Innsmouth, At the Mountains of Madness, and The Case of Charles Dexter Ward.  HPL's work recently came into the public domain, it can be read in full here along with a lot of other interesting material.

Older authors: Edgar Allan Poe, Algernon Blackwood, William Hope Hodgson, and Arthur Machen (mainly The Great God Pan).