Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 8/6/2008 6:43:23 PM EDT
I've been a gigging musician on and off for over 30 years, but a year and a half ago, I bought my 1st PA ever - at 1st, it was for rehearsal only, but it has grown since then to a somewhat modular system that will serve it's original purpose, on up to 500+ people gigs - or more, depending on the requirements...

I play in my own band, and a side project besides - but even between the 2 of them, I don't gig every weekend - so, I started running sound for other bands when I was off... Turns out, I'm not bad at all at it - in fact, I often get alot of compliments, few if any complaints - and a fair amount of offers for repeat business...

Although I prefer to play over running sound, I enjoy the sound gigs also - and go out of my way to accomodate the bands in the manner I'd want to be accomodated - I have a good monitor system, and can give 4 monitor mixes, if desired - and I have no difficulty getting a good FOH mix... The last show I did had 3 bands - I did a quick level check for the 1st band, and mixed on the fly - and by all accounts, had a good sounding mix well before the 1st song was over... For the next 2 bands, I left the channel faders where they were, dropped the mains a bit, and had them start their sets - I went down the channels setting each input level, then brought the main faders back up a bit, adjusted the channel faders for a good mix, and had everything running smoothly about 30 seconds into each band's 1st song... I had to tweak the monitor mixes a tiny bit after requests, then it was smooth sailing the rest of the night - I remember thinking to myself, I can't understand how *some* sound guys take forever to dial in a mix - it really isn't all that difficult...

Anyways, anyone else gigging and running sound on the side???

- georgestrings
Link Posted: 8/7/2008 8:48:33 PM EDT
[#1]
WooHoo!
First post.