Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 11/3/2014 1:44:52 AM EDT
you can't play anymore?

Me, I'm 64 and disabled by chronic and joint pains. I've played guitar since I was 10 years old back in 1960 (no, I'm not a prodigy). I love guitars and it bugs me when it's hard to play. I know there's time to let it go but I don't want to.

Getting old sucks and I still wanna rock.

I refuse to learn/play slow/easy stuff.

Rant over.

ETA: oh yeah, I can't remember shit either.
Link Posted: 11/3/2014 3:52:14 AM EDT
[#1]
I'm only 36 and have tendonitis in my hands from my job.  I can play for short periods of time.
Link Posted: 11/3/2014 9:37:50 AM EDT
[#2]
37 and have broken my left wrist a couple times, also a few boxers fractures in that hand from work.

I certainy can't play near as fast, or as long as I used to.

As a result, my playing is moving more toward blues from the Southern Rock and classic metal sounds.
Link Posted: 11/3/2014 2:26:48 PM EDT
[#3]
I am almost 55... and if it were not for modern medicine ..drugs.. I would no longer be able to
continue playing like I do. I have arthritis in my hands, back, neck, knees. I have chronic tendinitis

and nerve pain in my hands and arms. I have three herniated discs in my lower back. My playing has

taken a good hit but I am still able to play at a fair level. I have started to take up bass playing and I

really enjoy it, to try and keep me playing when I just can't do six strings anymore at the level I need to.
Link Posted: 11/3/2014 9:38:42 PM EDT
[#4]
I feel you guys and I know I can go to slower music but hard to get the rock out of my soul. All my radios are tuned to rock, especially classic rock and that what I like to play. When I started I was a surf instrumentalist.

I love the 60s and the 70s forever.
Link Posted: 11/5/2014 8:43:23 PM EDT
[#5]
52 here....I play about 2-3 hours per day.

Aleve is your friend.  Aspercreme is your friend