Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/15/2016 1:39:56 PM EDT
I'm a private pilot, but havent flown in years.  

I'd like to get back in the saddle again by flying my friend's experimental light sport aircraft (zenith ch750).  He's got many hours in this plane, but the issue is he's not licensed.  He's one of those old timers who always bombed around his farm in ultralights and never had time for the formality and bookwork of it.  Pretty sure he aint legal to carry passengers and probably not technically legal for him to be flying this aircraft at all.  But thats not my question.

It boils down to he's got the experience with no ticket, I got the ticket with no experience.  I know finding a CFI with experience in this specfic plane would be the perfect scenario.  Am I over thinking this?  Should I just say, "screw it", go fly with the guy and get familiar with the aircraft?
Link Posted: 10/15/2016 1:48:26 PM EDT
[#1]
Since you you've been away from flying, you need a BFR to legally carry passengers.

If you get that done and then flew with your friend, you'd be the legal PIC and no questions could be raised; I wouldn't risk flying it any other way.

One of these days your friend is gonna get caught up in the FAA's net and the outcome won't be pretty.

Link Posted: 10/15/2016 2:09:54 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Since you you've been away from flying, you need a BFR to legally carry passengers.

If you get that done and then flew with your friend, you'd be the legal PIC and no questions could be raised; I wouldn't risk flying it any other way.

One of these days your friend is gonna get caught up in the FAA's net and the outcome won't be pretty.

View Quote

This.  Go get current with an instructor.  Then go fly with the guy.  You also need to,make sure the airplane is registered.
Link Posted: 10/15/2016 2:24:01 PM EDT
[#3]