Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 1/16/2015 9:41:40 PM EDT
Link Posted: 1/16/2015 10:27:05 PM EDT
[#1]
Those who can, do.

Those who can't, flight instruct until they've built enough time.

Those who can't teach work for the FAA.
Link Posted: 1/17/2015 1:03:02 AM EDT
[#2]
I was an instructor for 2000 hours or so.  Mostly instrument. I would agree that no amount of FTD time replaces real world flight instrument training. Been over 10 years back but it came back home to me the other day.

Last Tuesday night I was repositioning our Citation Bravo single pilot and alone in the plane from the Citation Service Center at MCO to our home base at BTR. As usual I was monitoring guard. A woman keyed up all panicked and disoriented. She was lost and in some clouds. As soon as I heard her plight and the fear in her voice I knew it was over. Multiple controllers tried to get her down safely and in the end she stopped answering the radio. When the controller called out to her multiple times with no response I knew exact what had happened. I googled it after I landed at BTR and was not surprised to read that an inexperienced pilot splashed a 152 twenty feet from the shore at Smyrna Beach, FL.

During the whole time I was listening to the inevitable from 40,000 feet above the GOM I was wishing so badly I could be there with her to get her down safely.

Not the first wreck I've witnessed over the radio or even seen in person. But this one took several minutes and I knew it was going to happen the whole time. In my opinion the last controller gave her bad advice but it's not my place to question her. What this all comes to is that I absolutely believe that there should be more emphasis placed on instrument training and that no amount of PCFTD or whatever fake sims today are called can replicate a real sim or real flight training.

Handful of things I will never forget and the fear in that woman's voice is one of them.

RC
Link Posted: 1/17/2015 9:31:41 AM EDT
[#3]