Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/22/2014 6:04:08 AM EDT
I took the ATP written recently and passed with an 86 and now I guess I have two years to take the practical. I've got around 600-700 hours total time, much of it is in my Mooney and is cross-country with the type of time you might expect from a cautious pilot in a piston single -- around 10-20% is at night (up and down the coastline usually), 2-5% IMC with an occasional approach.

With what I'm reading, it looks as if I need to have 1500 hours total time to qualify, unless I have a bachelor's (does it have to be in aviation?). I live in Florida and have a job offer in Kansas that I'm expected to perform duties as an independent contractor and therefore will use my airplane to commute (I figure 14/hrs a week, weather and maintenance permitting).

I earned my instrument at a part 141 school and I have not yet taken my commercial check ride. I've done my commercial written exam.
Link Posted: 7/22/2014 7:13:07 AM EDT
[#1]
I'll try and peruse the new rules and check in with you.
Link Posted: 7/22/2014 7:26:19 AM EDT
[#2]
Google ATP CTP.  On that page is a link to a checklist that will walk you through exactly what you need for an ATP rating.
Link Posted: 7/22/2014 9:11:10 AM EDT
[#3]
I don't know if that applies. My understanding is that all of that CTP stuff is what kicks in on 8/1/14 to take the written.

The question is how the required time applies to the certificate: Am I looking at the 1000 hours required if you went to a 141 program and if I went to a commercial 141 program would that knock down my required hours or is it 1500 hours since I didn't go to college for an aviation degree?
Link Posted: 7/22/2014 9:17:43 AM EDT
[#4]
My interpretation is that to get a lower mins ATP you'd have to go to a school with an approved aviation program.