Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/6/2014 6:07:01 PM EDT
So recently I have been on this goal track to go get my commercial license to fly helicopters. Since I am a vet, I would be able to attend one of the colleges and have the GI bill cover the licensing from private to instructor. To do this I would have to sell my truck and quit my full time job as a cop.

After the courses, I plan on going back to law enforcement and finding a part time gig flying to build hours.

One of my concerns is not having a Bachelors Degree and competing for a pilot job. Thoughts?
Link Posted: 5/6/2014 6:29:12 PM EDT
[#1]
Does your department operate helicopters? I'd say you're in a pretty good position to get hired for that  if they do. I know of a few state patrol officers who went from zero time to helicopter pilot with the state picking up the cost. Otherwise not worth the trouble if you are looking at getting a civilian job but to answer your question a degree won't matter if you have the experience an employer is looking for.
Link Posted: 5/6/2014 6:32:22 PM EDT
[#2]
Bad idea regardless of degree.  No market for a 250hr commercial copter pilot unless you want to work for free. I know St. Louis PD trains their pilots themselves from 0 time to commercial, get a job there or similar dept.
Link Posted: 5/6/2014 6:39:58 PM EDT
[#3]
I wish my agency had a getto bird. Its just a small mountain town.

I would probably work dirt cheap to get my hours up. I figured it would be over 5 years of flying as a second job to get my hours were they need to be to go full time. I am young, and still have a long life a head of me.
Link Posted: 5/6/2014 6:42:45 PM EDT
[#4]
Have you tried for WOFT or a Guard slot?    How about internal LEO hiring?