Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/10/2017 9:39:18 PM EDT
Did a search but didn't find anything of relevance.  I am a hobbiest woodworker working out of a semi dedicated 2 car garage.  Semi dedicated meaning I need to be able to move everything aside and park at least one car whenever there is a chance of hail.  A dedicated shop is a short term goal (5 years or so), so any purchase I make I try to take into account the current setup as well as the possible future setup.

I have a table saw, planer, router table, band saw, and 12" miter saw, plus the usual small tools like sander and such.  I use a shop vac for everything right now, but am in the market for a dust collector.  There will never be any need to handle multiple tools at once.  Here is what I'm currently looking at:

https://www.rockler.com/jet-vortex-dust-collector-1-5hp-w-canister-filter-dc-1100vx-ck

I'm familiar with the Jet brand, but have no experience with it directly so don't know if it is G2G compared to other brands.  I definitely want to stay under $1k.

Any recommendations?
Link Posted: 6/10/2017 9:57:57 PM EDT
[#1]
should be alright. amazon and other places have 2 hp collectors for well under $500. i highly recommend a cyclone separator inline with your dust collector, as well. cheap to buy and use and makes emptying chips soooo much easier. check your local craigslist for deals; i'm less than $300 into this:

Link Posted: 6/11/2017 7:34:17 AM EDT
[#2]
Believe it or not, the Harbor Freight dust collector  is pretty good, especially for the price, and you can often find a 20% off coupon.  Add one of these Wynn cartridge filter and you'd be good to go.  There are also a lot of videos on Youtube on modding the Harbor Freight unit.  I built something like this which works very well.

ETA: Thien baffle info here.
Link Posted: 6/11/2017 11:01:13 AM EDT
[#3]