Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 3
Posted: 11/7/2015 10:56:15 AM EDT
I found this old lathe on CL a few weeks ago.  A fella bought a small farm and this was in the garage/shop when he took ownership.  He had no use for it and no one in his family wanted it so he put it on CL.  I scored the lathe and accessories, a static 3 phase converter and a 4 foot shop light for $550.  Not too bad.  I'm not a machinist, although I do have another lathe and a bench mill, and I am not a mechanic.  I've never really restored or re-finished anything before and I decided it was time.  I needed a winter project anyways.

Here it is in its old location.  

We loaded onto my trailer with a tractor, one end at a time.  Kinda hard on the little tractor, the lathe weights somewhere around 2,000 pounds.  

Here's a few pictures of it's condition upon arrival home.

Once I found the serial number I emailed LeBlond and was told it is a 13" Regal and left their manufacturing facility on 10-31-1950.  It has definitely been used, but I don't think it's been abused.

As I go through this process, if anyone has any suggestions for any step along the way please let me know.  I'm researching as I go and a lot of this will be trial and error.  

Here it is unloaded near the front of my garage after a quick wipe-down.  

Time to start taking stuff apart!
Link Posted: 11/7/2015 11:06:20 AM EDT
[#1]
Nice score. LeBlond makes a very nice lathe for general purposes. I wish I could run into a deal like that. Judging from the pictures, I don't think it will take much more than cleaning up to make hobbyist quality things. Check to make sure rats haven't chewed the insulation off of the wiring.
Link Posted: 11/7/2015 11:27:27 AM EDT
[#2]
Protect the name plates/speed charts, careful what you use to clean them, WD40 works good. I have done a few that were in worse shape. that is a good lathe and will clean up nice.