Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/22/2014 5:36:52 AM EDT
Since I am remodeling our landry room from the studs, I realize that I could run a gas line through a masonry wall to what could be a convenient place for a gas bbq grill.

I have no experience with outdoor  gas appliances. Has anyone tips or guidlines to share?
Link Posted: 7/22/2014 7:37:26 AM EDT
[#1]
Do you have a grill picked out?

Reason I ask is I had a Weber 6 burner grill, and my ex-wife paid some one to run the gas line to our deck.  Run was about 40'.  They did not use a large enough pipe, so the grill never got hot enough. (I think they used 1/2")

When I moved out, I rented a house for 2 years, and put my own gas line in, I used a 1" pipe out to the deck and the grill worked a lot better.

So use the largest diameter pipe you can, cause once it is installed and covered up, you can not change it!  Bigger is better in this case.

I just looked up the specs and for my grill they say runs under 50' should be at least 5/8 OD Tube, and I believe that should include the hose that goes to the grill in that length.

#1, T off of a larger pipe then you are going to use, to ensure you have enough gas volume. (or the main line)
#2, Use a large enough pipe to where you will hook up the grill.
#3, I put a shut off where I teed off of the main line, and also at the end of the line where I had a quick coupler.  (the bozo that did my first house, did neither, and under speced the line)
Link Posted: 7/23/2014 10:48:20 AM EDT
[#2]

Thanks for the info. I am t ing off from a half inch pipe, the total run from where the half inch pipe connects to the one inch main is about 18 foot long. I wonder if this will starve the volume?

And I dont have a grill picked out until our newer charcoal Weber quits. So this is for a future need.

Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Do you have a grill picked out?