Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/2/2015 3:37:49 PM EDT
2005 Ford Escape 130K miles. Lived its life in the rust belt. I am a DIY mechanic I have a MIG welder. The question is... is it worth saving?

Link Posted: 7/2/2015 3:42:20 PM EDT
[#1]
Damn!  That looks like a lot of work!  It all depends on the amount of work you think it will take vs what buying another vehicle means to you.  You could prob get away with fixing the wheel well area and only things that really need it.  As long as the rust hasnt compromised strength, dont mess with it.  

Also if all you are doing is looking to repair damage and rebuild strength, the work and welding will be way less than trying to build show quality.  Weld that bitch, primer, and some paint from a can = good to go.
Link Posted: 7/2/2015 3:46:22 PM EDT
[#2]
I REALLY hate buying cars because used cars are so expensive and you just end up with another problem. Brand new is out of the question, I would have it worn out before I paid it off. Most of its surface pitting rust, all the cancer is on the thin sheet metal.
Link Posted: 7/2/2015 4:42:48 PM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 7/2/2015 6:58:53 PM EDT
[#4]
Pass
Link Posted: 7/2/2015 9:02:42 PM EDT
[#5]
Strip it down to the good parts and build a cool FAV like the other guy on here.
Link Posted: 7/2/2015 11:25:09 PM EDT
[#6]
Link Posted: 7/3/2015 1:25:13 PM EDT
[#7]
too far gone at this point.
Link Posted: 7/3/2015 9:57:21 PM EDT
[#8]
Link Posted: 7/3/2015 9:59:54 PM EDT
[#9]
Fuuuukkkk no! Fix one area, another pops up.  Put effort into a car that is collectable if you're in the mood to restore something.
Link Posted: 7/3/2015 10:08:01 PM EDT
[#10]
Scab something over the hole by the rear shock mount, fill the gaps with expando foam and run it to death.

It's not worth putting any effort into trying to mint it out.
Link Posted: 7/3/2015 10:31:28 PM EDT
[#11]