Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/21/2017 11:20:56 AM EDT
So, here is the situation - I am a network admin at a mid-size municipal ISP.  We are almost entirely a FTTH outfit and have a large client base of college students in large apartment complexes.  Our standard deployment is pretty simple - FTTH or FTTB and an ethernet port in each apartment where the customer can plug in their device, get a public IP, and go to the internet unfettered aside from bandwidth limiting.  We track who has what IPs on what ports for the usual CALEA/DMCA stuff.  It all works well and the customers are happy to have zippy fast internet with no data caps.

So far, we do not provide any wireless (wi-fi) service to our end users.  Most folks until now have been content to let the residents get their own WAPs and manage them.  This simplifies our DMCA/CALEA compliance as we can track violators to a port and remediate violations there.  If the WAP gets compromised, it is the customer's problem.

So, here is the fun part - our sales people, without consulting us, put a bid in on a total campus wifi project for an existing customer.  So, I am scrambling to find a suitable wifi system that we can manage and support with a lean staff.

This site has about 50 buildings totaling about 500 apartments.  Right now, each bedroom in the apartments has an ethernet port.  We would add one AP per *apartment* for good coverage.  Total active ethernet ports is around 1500, customer count is ~2500.  Users are almost all 18-25yo college kids using gobs of streaming services.  Current allocated bandwidth is 50Mbps symmetrical, but will get kicked much higher if they go for the new bid.