Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/2/2015 8:37:20 PM EDT
No, not the guys and gals that deliver our cool toys, but uninterruptable power supplies.  I need one that will keep my core infrastructure up and running.  This is a home setup with aged/second hand equipment, so not very power efficient.  

It will run a Lenovo M85 desktop (pfsense box) that's an old Core 2, a Dell 2721 24 port switch, a TPLink Access Point, a cable modem, a WD MyBook drive, and a couple of raspberry Pis.

I need about 20-30 minutes of runtime, preferred, or 10 minutes to stop quick power flashes and for "graceful" shutdown of the devices.

Thoughts?  Brands?  What do I need to know?
Link Posted: 8/2/2015 9:31:57 PM EDT
[#1]
I have no knowledge to add; tag for answers...

Posted Via AR15.Com Mobile
Link Posted: 8/2/2015 9:36:16 PM EDT
[#2]
We use them all the time at work, we have minor 1 - 5 second power outages all the time. About all I can say is most UPS's only last 3 - 4 years, after that the battery won't charge.
Link Posted: 8/2/2015 9:38:56 PM EDT
[#3]
I have a trusty APC SmartUPS. Not the ones you're getting at best buy but the network grade stuff that costs a few hundred to a few thousand. Problem is to tell you what runtime you will get you need to know your power draw. 20-30 minutes isn't too bad of a requirement for a load like that. You might look at something like a APC SMC1500 Smart-UPS.
Link Posted: 8/2/2015 10:10:19 PM EDT
[#4]

Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:

We use them all the time at work, we have minor 1 - 5 second power outages all the time. About all I can say is most UPS's  Batteries only last 3 - 4 years, after that the battery won't charge.
View Quote
fify

Link Posted: 8/2/2015 10:29:16 PM EDT
[#5]
Buy one of these and find out how much wattage you're running, then buy an appropriate sized UPS.
Link Posted: 8/2/2015 10:46:35 PM EDT
[#6]