Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/27/2015 12:13:04 PM EDT
Someone I know is in need of computers to take to Africa (mainly for word processing at a school) and I have two XP desktop machines that I was planning to donate.  However, one is infected and the other is just bogged down and slow.  I was hoping to wipe them and re-install the OS, which I've never done before.  Also, I don't have an XP disc but heard you can make your own boot disk.  I've tried a few online tutorials... but no success.  Any advise on how to do this?  

Or anyone here a Linux fan?  Is this an option?

Sorry for the broad stroke questions... on this topic, I'm not well versed enough to know what specific questions to ask.
Link Posted: 1/27/2015 1:30:48 PM EDT
[#1]
If you haven't got the original program disks then you aren't going to be able to reload those machines.  XP is no longer supported by MS, anyway.  Just wipe the drives and let the next user do whatever he wants to with them.
Link Posted: 1/27/2015 1:55:25 PM EDT
[#2]
Could always look for window xp iso images and burn 'em.  Can probly find them in the torrents.  

But, yea, I'd just wipe the drives.  Look for DBAN (Darik's Boot And Nuke).  Burn the iso to a CD, boot from it, and use it to wipe the drive, to make sure there's no recoverable data on it.

As far as Linux, you could go download an iso (if you don't know, an iso file is a disc image, usually of a CD or DVD) of maybe Ubuntu Linux, and install it.  It's been a while since I've done a linux install, but i'm pretty sure they're pretty damn easy nowadays.

Link Posted: 1/28/2015 1:17:29 AM EDT
[#3]
Ubuntu or Linux Mint. Throw a free office suite on it.
Link Posted: 1/28/2015 9:30:11 AM EDT
[#4]
I'd put some version of Linux on them.  How much ram do your machines have?  Will they have internet access in Africa?  What printers will they have access to?