Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/5/2017 4:20:17 PM EDT
I recently lost my Pentax ist-DL that I had been shooting with for 9 years. This camera made me a ton of money and documented my unit's deployment. It went with a whimper. This left me with no camera.

It took a few months but I was able to replace it.

I just recently stopped off at my local fence (USA PAWN) because every once in a while they get some Nikon equipment in. I had to switch to Nikon because no one in southeastern AZ has ever heard of Pentax.

What did I see in the case? A brand new condition, 17k clicks on the shutter, Pentax K20D. Not only that, it was sporting a 50mm f1.4 AF film lens (75mm on a DX). I know how much that lens is worth. The price on the whole deal was $200. I checked it out and haggled with them. I got them to eat the sales tax. Then they bring out the rest of the kit for it. It had the new kit lens, 18-55 DAii, two batteries, charger, and a nice small bag! It just kept getting better!

This camera is simple, straight forward, and isn't loaded withh all the crap that the Nikon D3200 ships with. It has none of those Prosumer modes like FLOWER or SMILE or TREE. It basically has AV, TV, and TA-V (ISO Priority), M, and Program. I have used it on a few shoots already and I have only had it a few weeks.

The only issues I have with the 50mm f1.4 are that the images are a bit soft wide open. I usually use f1.8 to 2.8.

My old lenses work fine, my 75-300mm Zoom, my old kit lens, my two vintage 50mm lenses, and my old Gemini 75-200mm.

Attached are a few shots from a recent shoot.
Attachment Attached File
Attachment Attached File
Attachment Attached File
Attachment Attached File
Attachment Attached File
Link Posted: 4/7/2017 2:40:05 PM EDT
[#1]
Pentax makes great stuff.  Not sure on that model, but my old K100D had shake reduction built into the body, which is a great feature.