Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/11/2016 8:59:23 PM EDT
I am sorry to ask, but I am way out of my league here.

My daughter has graduated high school today, and would like a camera.  She has had several point and shoot type camera's but would like a decent one.  She is 15, and graduated 2 years early so she can start working at the family business and help her old man by working with me.  I want to get her something to show I appreciate her hard work and her dedication to the family.  She has shown a appreciation for photography and has wanted a decent camera for a while.  I kept asking her to until she was older, but I think she has waited long enough.

I have no knowledge of cameras or the lenses they use, but I have a lot of money invested in scopes and a spotting scope.  I know in general with glass you get what you pay for.

She wantsthis package, but it seems to me that with that many lenses and accessories for that price the lenses may not be much good.  I would pay more than that for a decent scope, and it just strikes me as possibly being item heavy and quality light.

Since she graduated 2 years early, I do not have to pay for 2 more years of private school for her.  It seems fair to me to spend some of what she has saved me on what she wants.  Budget is somewhat flexible, I figure about $ 3,000.00, but if $4,000.00 makes a huge difference we could swing it.  I just want to be sure that she is not limited by the what she chooses.  She is very willing to purchase used equipment if she would get more for her money that way.  I would assume that most of the money should be spent on glass as a long term investment, and less on the body as a consumable or replaceable item.

Most of her pictures will be of family members at gatherings, perhaps some scenery.  Mostly across the room / across the yard distances.  Probably little long distance photography.