Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/7/2014 12:13:15 AM EDT
My husband left his account open so I am using it to ask for advice because he tells me ARFCOM knows EVERYTHING. I have a Kodak 30x IS Point and Shoot Camera (I know it's not that fancy but it's what I have). Anyways, I would love to take good photos of my kids (like the ones you could blow up and put on your wall good). The only problem is is that I am not good at all. I have read the manual to my camera a few times, have practised outside, read some blogs and my pics are still pretty crappy. I really would love your advice on where to start. I know it takes a lot of practice but definitely need suggestions on where to start with a point and shoot camera and I am welcome to any advice that has helped you along the way.
Link Posted: 9/7/2014 9:18:49 AM EDT
[#1]
Priorities in my opinion

1) focus. If a picture is poorly focused, it is wasted. There is no fix for poorly focused images. A little soft is one thing. Blurry and unidentifiable is something else. Back focused etc. It'd also be good to mention here verifying what is in front of and behind your subject. Not only for compositional value but to make sure your camera doesn't jump focus on you.

2) light. With a point and shoot in particular, more is always better. Natural light for the win. Indirect or diffused like from a window or on a cloudy day. Bad light can be fixed to some extent in post but there are tradeoffs. The built in flash on your camera will cast some harsh light on your subject. Rig up or buy a diffuser for it if you have to use it. Sometimes it is useful.