Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/30/2014 10:30:39 PM EDT
I've decided I'm going to enter this photo into an exhibition/competition

Texas Star by jschneider928, on Flickr

This will actually the first of my photos I print in a larger size (8x12) and I'm having to debate between, glossy, lustre, matte, or metallic.   And I'm stumped as I've only ever ordered small prints from walgreens or the like and I think thy were all glossies.  

Is there any advantage to one over another?
Link Posted: 5/30/2014 11:22:07 PM EDT
[#1]
I am by no means an expert, but I would order glossies from Adorama.

Good Luck !
Link Posted: 5/30/2014 11:50:38 PM EDT
[#2]
I use mpix.com to print out 8x12 for my personal printed 'portfolio'. I go metallic.

But I highly suggest lustre or matte if this is going to be displayed on a wall, etc. It will have less glare and better contrast. The colors won't be as vibrant as metallic (or glossy), but if the printing company you go with is worth anything, it won't matter since the lustre or matte print will still result in good colors.
Link Posted: 5/31/2014 1:58:21 AM EDT
[#3]
I got a similar style of picture printed on glossy at Staples, and I liked the way it turned out.
Link Posted: 6/2/2014 8:20:33 AM EDT
[#4]
I tend to select according to subject matter. For a landscape i use matte. For portraits matte or luster. For stuff that I want to 'pop' I tend towards metallic. Have you considered printing on metal? Those look very impressive and aren't horribly expensive.
Link Posted: 6/2/2014 9:42:06 AM EDT
[#5]
For my tastes with that print,  I would prefer metallic only if it one of the better processes.  Otherwise, glossy.  Read the entry rules though as sometimes those state restrictions on items like this.
Link Posted: 6/2/2014 10:11:29 AM EDT
[#6]
I *personally* prefer luster.

Glossy often looks great but I find the reflections distracting.
Link Posted: 6/2/2014 10:57:55 AM EDT
[#7]