Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/9/2017 11:34:50 AM EDT
Palmetto State's strongest man is this summer in July and I've considered doing it.  I have never done a strongman event before and have limited experience with the events.  I have two options for weight: Novice LW (225 and under) and Open Lightweight (181 and under). My thoughts would be to do the novice since the weights are lighter, even though I might be giving up 40lbs.  I have no illusions I'll be a top performer, I just want to do my best.  Events are as follows:

Event Details:

Event 1: Max 18 inch Deadlift for SC State Record:
-3 attempts, rising bar
-No Sumo!
- Men go up by 40lb increments/Women go up by 20lb increments
- If you fail and have remaining attempts you can re-attempt at same weight or higher.  
-Auction Style first person to lift weight successfully will win tie breaker in case of one
- Down signal will be given win hips are locked out and shoulder/knees are behind the bar
-Chalk, straps, belts allowed NO SUITS!

Event 2:  Viking Press for Reps:
-Head to Head Event
- Down Command will be giving for each rep
-Push-press only (no jerks of any kind)
-You can set the implement down and re-attempt if you have time remaining
-Max Reps in 45 seconds
- Wrist wraps, sleeves, Chalk, and belt only
Weights:  
LW Novice women 105 Lbs
HW Novice women 125lbs
LW Women 125LBs
MW Women 150lbs
HW Women 175lbs
LW Novice Men 225lbs
HW Novice Men 275lbs
LW Men 275lbs
MW Men 325lbs
HW Men 375lbs
SHW Men 425lbs
LW Masters Men 275lbs
HW Masters Men 325lbs

Event 3: Frame Carry
HEAD to HEAD
Straps Allowed Belt Allowed
20 feet fastest time/farthest distance wins
Just the front of the implement needs to cross the line
LW Women’s Novice 300Lbs
HW Women Novice 375lbs
LW Women 375lbs
MW Women 425lbs
HW Women 475lbs  
LW Novice Men 500lbs
HW Novice Men 550lbs
LW Men 550lbs
MW Men 650lbs
HW Men 750lbs
SHW Men 850lbs
LW Masters Men 550lbs