Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 2/6/2017 3:04:40 AM EDT
I started lifting heavy again (had an otj injury in nov).  Also, my work is doing a fitness challenge.  
Points for muscle gained and fat lost.  

I am 6'6" and 260.  Currently 20% bf.  
I put on 2lbs of muscle since Jan 1.  

I have been averaging 100 to 150 grams of protein a day.  (1 50g shake and the rest from food).  

Google revealed anywhere from 0.8 to 1.5 grams per pound of body weight.  

Anyone have input on the ideal amount of protein per day?  

200 to 390 grams per day is a big range.  And 390 would be a gut buster.  I have a hard time hitting my bmr caloric minimum (2336 cal)
Link Posted: 2/6/2017 3:53:52 AM EDT
[#1]
I don't know about ideal, but I shoot for 1g/lb of lean body mass (I.e. the fat doesn't count as you're not "feeding" it).

If you're gaining muscle while losing fat, you're probably close to where you need to be and don't need to worry about fine tuning, at least not yet.
Link Posted: 2/6/2017 12:19:00 PM EDT
[#2]
How is your kidney function?
Link Posted: 2/6/2017 1:23:30 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I don't know about ideal, but I shoot for 1g/lb of lean body mass (I.e. the fat doesn't count as you're not "feeding" it).

If you're gaining muscle while losing fat, you're probably close to where you need to be and don't need to worry about fine tuning, at least not yet.
View Quote

I think that one gets overlooked a bit, and probably why it's recommend a lot to use 0.8g/lb, to account for the fact people won't figure out how much fat they have.

I approach it like this. I try to make my macro ratio protein heavy, muscle synthesis takes time. If you consume 2 lbs of chicken you aren't going to build two lbs of muscle, you probably get a pretty similar outcome from 1.5 lbs of chicken, or 1 lb of chicken and a big glass of milk.